Guelph519 837 2100 | 1 800 746 0685

Fergus519 843 1960 | 1 800 746 0685

Law Firm LLP

Contact Us:

Please contact our office directly to discuss your legal requirements or for more information on our services. If you wish to contact one of our lawyers directly please visit the Our Team page.

Guelph Office

105 Silvercreek Pkwy. N.
Suite 100 Guelph, ON N1H 6S4

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 1240
Guelph, ON N1H 6N6

Phone: 519 837 2100
Fax: 519 837 1617

Toll Free: 1 800 746 0685

Email: guelphinfo@smithvaleriote.com

Fergus Office

265 Bridge Street
Fergus, ON N1M 1T7

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 128
Fergus, ON N1M 2W7

Phone: 519 843 1960
Fax: 519 843 6888

Toll Free: 1 800 746 0685

Email: fergusinfo@smithvaleriote.com

Quick Contact

select

Sending an email to SmithValeriote LLP does not establish a solicitor-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to the firm unless a retainer has been confirmed. I Agree.

Submit     Cancel/Close

Real Estate Law

The purchase or sale of a property is a major decision. For many of us, it is the largest investment we will ever make. Whether you are buying or selling a home, rental property or cottage, it is important to be aware of the legal implications of real estate transactions to ensure you to maximize the enjoyment of your new property or get the most out of your sale or investment.

The SmithValeriote Law Firm LLP Real Estate Practice Group can help guide you through the purchase or sale of a home, condominium, cottage, life lease, or investment property (including multi-unit buildings). Our lawyers have worked with individuals throughout Ontario to complete the purchase or sale of a property and can help you through this process regardless of where you are in the province.

Our team is made up of experienced lawyers and a dedicated group of clerks who can help you during this process. We know real estate law and will work with you from the review of the Agreement of Purchase or Sale all the way to the final closing of the transaction. Our services include matters of financing of real property and we have extensive background in mortgage and loan documentation for real estate.

Back to all Services

Real Estate Law Services

  • Representation of purchasers and sellers with respect to single family dwellings, condominiums, recreational and cottage properties, life leases, apartment buildings and multi-unit buildings
  • Consultation and review of agreements of purchase and sale both for potential purchaser and seller
  • Consultation and explanation of title insurance options along with a full range of title insurance products
  • Consultation for, explanation of and preparation of all mortgage documentation
  • Attendance with client for review and explanation of all documents at the time of closing
  • Full representation with respect to the transfer of a property, including:
    • Conducting all relevant title searches
    • Calculation of all financial obligations
    • Preparation of all documents, such as deeds, mortgages, and affidavits
    • Registration of all documents in the title registration system

Residential Land Transfer Tax Calculator

Enter Purchase Price

Calculate

Provincial Land Transfer Tax (PLTT)

*Applicable to all Ontario properties

**Property in Toronto may be subject to additional Land Transfer Tax

Real Estate Law Lawyers

Real Estate Law Clerks

Patty Rowsell

T: 519837-2100 ext. 332
E: prowsell@smithvaleriote.com

Guelph Office

Meghan Aebig (Residential)

T: 519-837-2100 Ext.259
E: maebig@smithvaleriote.com

Cathy Black (Commercial)

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 294
E: cblack@smithvaleriote.com

Melissa Bousfield (Residential) ON LEAVE

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 299
E: mbousfield@smithvaleriote.com

Brenda Ciccia Legal Assistant

T: 519-837-2100 Ext. 366
E: bciccia@smithvaleriote.com

Crystal Gillies (Residential)

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 360
E: cgillies@smithvaleriote.com

Cheryl Hotten (Commercial)

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 286
E: chotten@smithvaleriote.com

Megan Mazur (Intake Clerk)

T: 519-837-2100 x.309
E: mmazur@smithvaleriote.com

Lynda Nevett (Residential)

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 282
E: lnevett@smithvaleriote.com

Linda Rowan (Reports)

T: 519-837-2100 ext. 338
E: lrowan@smithvaleriote.com

Josee Valade (Residential)

T: 5198372100 Ext. 306
E: jvalade@smithvaleriote.com

Fergus Office

Jessica Elliott

T: 519-843-1960 x.122
E: jelliott@smithvaleriote.com

Marion Healey-Seadon (Residential)

T: 519-843-1960
E: mhealeyseadon@smithvaleriote.com

Malora Whitman (Residential)

T: 519-843-1960 ext. 127
E: mwhitman@SmithValeriote.com

Lisa Zabielski (Intake Clerk)

T: 519-843-1960 ext. 139
E: lzabielski@smithvaleriote.com

Resources

Date Title Related Lawyers Type

Oct 27, 2014

Liening Leaseholds – Section 19 of the Construction Lien Act

Article

Aug 18, 2014

TITLE INSURANCE AND ABORIGINAL LAND TITLE CLAIMS

Article

Smith Valeriote Logo - Excellence in our Community

SmithValeriote Law Firm LLP has 30 lawyers servicing the province of Ontario including the communities of Waterloo, Kitchener, Fergus, Cambridge, Elora and Guelph.

Smith Valeriote - Map to Guelph Offices

Guelph Office

105 Silvercreek Pkwy. N.
Suite 100 Guelph, ON N1H 6S4

Phone: 519 837 2100
Fax: 519 837 1617

Toll Free: 1 800 746 0685

Email: guelphinfo@smithvaleriote.com

Smith Valeriote - Map to Fergus Offices

Fergus Office

265 Bridge Street
Fergus, ON N1M 1T7

Phone: 519 843 1960
Fax: 519 843 6888

Toll Free: 1 800 746 0685

Email: fergusinfo@smithvaleriote.com